Related Books

Feast of Our Lady of Sorrows

Commemorated on September 15
Feast of Our Lady of Sorrows
The order of the Servants of Mary, founded in 1223 by seven young Florentine noblemen who wished to live as hermits, early developed a devotion to the Seven Sorrows of Mary. Their chaplet of the seven sorrows uses a rosary of seven groups of seven beads upon which Hail Marys are said while meditating on the Virgin's sorrows:
Mary hears St. Simeon prophesy that a sword will pierce her soul (Luke 2:35)
Mary and Joseph flee with the baby Jesus to Egypt (Matthew 2:14)
Mary and Joseph lose the child Jesus (Luke 2:45)
Jesus carries his cross (John 19:17)
Jesus dies on the cross (John 19:25)
Jesus' body is taken from the cross (John 19:38)
Jesus' burial (John 19:42)
The Catholic Church granted the Servite Order a liturgical feast of Our Lady of Sorrows in 1667. In 1814 the feast was extended to the entire church. Devotion to Our Lady of Sorrows has been very strong throughout the Catholic world, notably in eastern Europe and above all in Latin America, as the Virgen de Dolores. She is often depicted with one or more swords in her heart, usually seven, as in the the statue of Maria Santissima Addolorata in the Servite Church of San Pier Piccolo in Arezzo, Tuscany (right, from  




Additional information